Mental Health Support Specialist (MHSS)


Learn more about the MHSS certification process by selecting the tabs below.

The Mental Health Support Specialist (MHSS) provides daily living support and residential services to individuals with mental illness. In order to be a MHSS you must be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma or a GED.

The MHSS course meets one of the requirements for Mental Health Rehabilitation Technician MHRT I certification. MHSS consists of approximately 35-hours of training and it is regularly offered throughout Maine by various agencies and trainers. The MHSS course may be waived in certain circumstances. Please see the section of our website on MHRT I for details.

As a Mental Health Support Specialist (MHSS) trainer, you have a variety of requirements. Some of your responsibilities include: Offering the MHSS course to participants at least one time per year; notifying the Center for Learning at least 30 days before you teach the MHSS course; and collecting course evaluations from participants and submitting them to the Center for Learning.

You will also need to submit a Validation Form (confirmation of the dates that you taught the class and the names of participants who attended) to the Center for Learning.

By clicking on the following link, you will find detailed information about MHSS training policies and procedures.

Please note that in 2006, the Direct Support Professional and Mental Health Support Specialist curricula were compared. It was determined that the following three modules are interchangeable between the two curricula: Confidentiality, Documentation, and Sexuality.

NOTICE FOR MHSS TRAINERS:

The Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services revised the MHSS evaluation policy in 2012. The policy includes the following:

1) Trainer(s) will assign one student to distribute the evaluations, collect them once completed, and place them in an envelope provided ahead of time by Center for Learning. The envelope will have instructions for both the designated student and trainer. 2) Trainer(s) will leave the room while students complete their evaluation form. 3) Trainer(s) may reenter the room after all evaluation forms have been collected and sealed by the designated individual.

Please notify the Center for Learning (using the MHSS Trainer Notification form) within 30 days prior to offering a course so that we can ensure you have the envelope and instructions prior to the end of your course.

Below are links to the various forms that you will need as a trainer.

Use the Evaluation Form when you are ready to ask students to provide feedback about the course:

MHSS Student Evaluation Form (updated June 2014)

MHSS Student Evaluation Form Word   MHSS Student Evaluation Form PDF


Use the Curriculum Modification Form if you wish to change the order of the MHSS modules or add material to the standardized curriculum:

MHSS Curriculum Modification Request Form

MHSS Curriculum Modification Form Word    MHSS Curriculum Modification Form PDF


Use the Training Notification Form to notify the Center for Learning that you will be teaching the MHSS class:

MHSS Training Notification Form (updated June 2014)

Training Notification Form Word    Training Notification Form PDF


Ask students to complete the Student Information Form so that they can receive their certificate once they finish the course

MHSS Student Information Form

MHSS Student Word  MHSS Student Evaluation Form PDF


Use the Training Validation Form to inform the Center for Learning of the dates that you taught the MHSS class and the names of students who participated:

MHSS Training Validation Form 

Training Validation Form Word Training Validation Form PDF

Please Note: The Center for Learning does not accept registrations for MHSS courses. You must contact the instructor directly to register for their course. Since we list the information provided to us as we receive it, this list may not be inclusive.

Trainers: If you want us to list your course here, please submit the Training Notification Form (see further below) as soon as possible before your course takes place. There is no charge for this service.

List last updated: November 14, 2019

Date/Time

Location

Class Size

Instructor(s)

Contact Info

October 29, November 5, 12, 19, & 26, 2019
8:30am – 4pm

Motivational Services
71 Hospital St.
Augusta, ME  04330

15

Chelé Fuller

Donna Wilson
Dwilson@mocomaine.com

(207) 624-0479

November 1, 8, 15, 22, & 29, 2019
9am – 4pm

Ascentria Community Services
155 Center St.
Auburn , ME  04210

12

Heather Bingelis and Scott Morrison

kandrews@ascentria.org

(207) 783-3446

November 5, 8, 13, 18, & 20, 2019
9am – 3:30pm

Port Resources
280B Gannett Dr.
South Portland, ME  04106

16

Mark Lindquist

mlindquist@
portresources.org

(207) 828-0048

November 8, 11, 18, 25, & 26, 2019
8am – 5pm

NFI North
Finson Road RCF
726 Finson Rd.
Bangor, ME  04401

5–Full

Jay Bowker

jaybowker@nafi.com

(207) 945-3099

November 11, 12, 18, 19, & 25, 2019
8:30am – 4:30pm

Some dates do overlap with other trainings offered by this agency allowing mix-and-match according to attendee’s work schedule

Pillars Community Outreach
121 Main St.
Fairfield, ME  04937

12

Brenda Radel

bradel@
pillarscommunityoutreach.org

(207) 453-4500

Nobember 13, 15, 18, 20, & 22, 2019
9:15 am – 5pm

Shalom House, Inc.
106 Gilman St.
Portland, ME  04102

20

Martha Lafferty and Kristine Lausier

Jessie Souter:
jsouter@shalomhouseinc.org

(207) 874-1080 ext. 177

Nobember 21, Dece3mber 5, 12, & 19, 2019
8 am – 4pm

Volunteers of America
Miller Square
315 Harlow St.
Bangor, ME  04401

8

Jeremy Crockett & David Roderick

jeremy.crockett@voanne.org

(207) 944-5054

November 26, December 3, 11, & 12, 2019
8am – 4pm

ESM, Inc.
776 Riverside Dr.
Augusta, ME  04330

12

Jennifer Cunningham, Jodi Eldridge, Becky McPhail & Savannah Patton

jodi.eldridge@
esm-augusta.com

(207) 622-5946

December 2, 5, 13, & 17 (Snow date if needed: December 18, 2020)
8am – 6pm

Community Health & Counseling Services
42 Cedar St.
Bangor, ME  04401

6-FULL

Deborah Walker-Roper

dwalker@chcs-me.org

(207) 922-4490

December 4, 6, 10, 11, & 18, 2019 (Make-up date if needed: January 3, 2020)
8am – 4pm

Maine Behavioral Healthcare
409 Old County Rd.
Rockland, ME  04841

FULL

Julia Abernethy

jabernethy@
mainebehavioralhealthcare.org

(207) 594-9507

December 9 – 13, 2019
8:30am – 4:30pm

Some dates do overlap with other trainings offered by this agency allowing mix-and-match according to attendee’s work schedule

Pillars Community Outreach
121 Main St.
Fairfield, ME  04937

12

Brenda Radel

bradel@
pillarscommunityoutreach.org

(207) 453-4500

December 9, 10, 16, 17, & 23, 2019
8:30am – 4:30pm

Some dates do overlap with other trainings offered by this agency allowing mix-and-match according to attendee’s work schedule

Pillars Community Outreach
121 Main St.
Fairfield, ME  04937

12

Brenda Radel

bradel@
pillarscommunityoutreach.org

(207) 453-4500

December 5, 6, 13, 19, & 20, 2019
9am – 4:30pm

Alternative Services-Northeast
1567 Lisbon St.
Suite #2
Lewiston, ME  04240

20

Corey Provencher

cprovencher@asi-ne.org

(207) 777-1107

December 16 – 19, 2019
8am – 4pm

Volunteers of America
7 Smith Ln.
Saco, ME  04072

12

Marleigh Souza

Shannon Chisholm
shannon.chisholm@
voanne.org

(781) 706-0779

February 10, 11, 17, 24, & 25, 2020
9am – 4:30pm

Alternative Services-Northeast
1567 Lisbon St.
Suite #2
Lewiston, ME  04240

20

Corey Provencher

cprovencher@asi-ne.org

(207) 777-1107

March 2 – 6, 2020
9am – 5pm

The Opportunity Alliance
50 Lydia Ln.
South Portland, ME  04106

20

Darlene Panzino, Amber Elliott, & Sarah Emerson

Patty Mann:
patty.mann@
opportunityalliance.org

(207) 874-8079

March 16 – 20, 2020
9:15am – 5pm

Shalom House
106 Gilman St.
Portland, ME  04102

20

Kristine Lausier and Stephanie Garza

Jesse Souter:
jsouter@shalomhouseinc.org

(207) 874-1080 ext. 177

June 8 – 12, 2020
9am – 5pm

The Opportunity Alliance
50 Lydia Ln.
South Portland, ME  04106

20

Darlene Panzino, Amber Elliott, & Sarah Emerson

Patty Mann:
patty.mann@
opportunityalliance.org

(207) 874-8079

June 22, 23, 26, 29, & 30, 2020
9am – 4:30pm

Alternative Services-Northeast
1567 Lisbon St.
Suite #2
Lewiston, ME  04240

20

Corey Provencher

cprovencher@asi-ne.org

(207) 777-1107

July 13, 15, 17, 20, & 21, 2020
9:15am – 5pm

Shalom House
106 Gilman St.
Portland, ME  04102

20

Kristine Lausier

Jesse Souter:
jsouter@shalomhouseinc.org

(207) 874-1080 ext. 177

August 5, 9, 12, 13, & 19, 2020
9am – 4:30pm

Alternative Services-Northeast
1567 Lisbon St.
Suite #2
Lewiston, ME  04240

20

Corey Provencher

cprovencher@asi-ne.org

(207) 777-1107

September 28 – October 2, 2020
9am – 5pm

The Opportunity Alliance
50 Lydia Ln.
South Portland, ME  04106

20

Darlene Panzino, Amber Elliott, & Sarah Emerson

Patty Mann:
patty.mann@
opportunityalliance.org

(207) 874-8079

November 12, 13, 16, 18, & 19, 2020
9:15am – 5pm

Shalom House
106 Gilman St.
Portland, ME  04102

20

Martha Lafferty and Stephanie Garza

Jesse Souter:
jsouter@shalomhouseinc.org

(207) 874-1080 ext. 177

Approved MHSS Trainers


Below is a list of trainers who have been certified to teach the Mental Health Support Specialist curriculum with contact information. Email links are disabled to reduce spambot mining. You will need to copy the email into your email program.

Last updated on October 11, 2019

Trainer’s Name

Agency

Phone

Email

Julia Abernethy

Maine Behavioral Healthcare

(207) 594-9507

jabernethy@mmc.org

Laurence Albee

Direct Community Care

(207) 512-2424

lalbee@directcare.me

Terri-Lynn Allen

Volunteers of America

(207) 415-7221

terri-lynn.allen@voanne.org

Jessica Amato

Sweetser

(207) 298-1693

jamato@sweetser.org

Nicholas Anderson

Motivational Services

(207) 832-1224

Laurel Bailey

Sweetser

(207) 373-4287

lbailey@sweetser.org

Heather Bingelis

Ascentria Community Services

(207) 577-4160

hbingelis@ascentria.org

Jay Bowker

NFI North, Inc.

(207) 852-7442

jaybowker@nafi.com

Vicki Brichetto

SequelCare of Maine

(207) 847-2273

vicki.cote@
sequelyouthservices.com

Holly Brown

Sweetser

(207) 593-1275

hbrown@sweetser.org

Christie Bryant

Sunrise Opportunities

(207) 255-6789

Julie Daniels:
daniels@sun-rise.tv

Kellie Burgess

Sequelcare of Maine

(207) 653-7583

kellie.burgess
@sequelyouthservices.com

Shawna Chase

Tri-County Mental Health Services

(207) 364-5851

schase@tcmhs.org

Emily Cobb

Casco Bay Community Support Services

She is available to train at other agencies.

(207) 333-1984

emilycobbcbcss@gmail.com

Billie Jo Cookson

Graham Behavioral Services

(207) 626-0003

billiejocookson@gbsmaine.com

Nicole Cote

Sweetser

(207) 786-1133

ncote@sweetser.org

Jeremy Crockett

Volunteers of America

(207) 944-5054

jeremy-crockett@voanne.org

Jennifer Cunningham

ESM, Inc.

(207) 622-5946

jennifer.cunningham@
esm-augusta.com

Amy Davis

She is available to train at other agencies.

(207) 232-3121

icedlilac113@gmail.com

Wayne Day

OHI Professional Development

(207) 605-1222

wday@ohimaine.org

Sarah Delano

OHI Professional Development

(207) 605-1245

sdelano@ohimaine.org

Keri Devlin

Assistance Plus

(207) 453-4708

kdevelin@assistanceplus.com

Jessica DiMauro

Mobius, Inc.

(207) 563-3511

jdimauro@mobiusinc.org

Bobbie-Jo Duman

Water’s Edge Therapy, Inc.

(207) 616-0499

bdumas@
watersedgetherapyme.com

Jodi Eldridge

ESM, Inc.

(207) 622-5946

jodi.eledridge@
esm-augusta.com

Amber Elliott

The Opportunity Alliance

(207) 874-1060

amber.elliott@
opportunityalliance.org

Sarah Emerson

The Opportunity Alliance

(207) 780-8551

sarah.emerson@
opportunityalliance.org

Kimberly Fletcher

Granite Bay Care

(207) 210-0096

kfletcher@granitebaycare.org

Amy Flewelling

MAS Community Health

(207) 561-9533

aflewelling@
mascommunityhealth.com

Cheryl Fournier

MAS Community Health

(207) 376-4880

cfournier@
mascommunityhealth.com

Chelé Fuller

(207) 713-5036

chelefuller@gmail.com

Sabrina Gagnon

Graham Behavioral Services

(207) 626-0003

sabrina@gbsmaine.com

Stephanie Garza

Shalom House

(207) 874-1088

sgarza@shalomhouseinc.org

Susan Gordon

Crisis & Counseling Centers, Inc.

(207) 213-4545

sgordon@crisisandcounseling.org

Michelle Gowell

Assistance Plus

(207) 453-4708

mgowell@assistanceplus.com

Dannielle Hartford

AngleZ Behavioral Health Services

(844) 294-5306

dhartford@anglezbhs.com

Stephanie Hatcher

John F. Murphy Homes

She is available to train at other agencies.

(207) 782-2726

stephanie.hatcher@jfmh.org

To book a training please use:
shatcher2@gmail.com

Michael Heiko

Volunteers of America

(207) 799-0637

michael.heiko@voanne.org

Heather Kelley

Paramount Behavioral Services

(207) 660-9124

heather.kelley@
paramountbehavioral.com

Joy Kish

Tri-County Mental Health Services

(207) 353-7438

jkish@tcmhs.org

Martha Lafferty

Shalom House

(207) 874-1080

mlafferty@shalomhouseinc.org

Kristine Lausier

Shalom House

(207) 874-1080

klausier@shalomhouseinc.org

Mark Lindquist

Port Resources

(207) 828-0048

mlindquist@portresources.org

James McClay

Aroostook Mental Health Center

(207) 764-0759

jmcclay@amhc.org

Becky McPhail

ESM

(207) 622-5946

becky.mcphail@
esm-augusta.com

Jonathan Michael

Shalom House

(207) 874-2201

jmichael@shalomhouseinc.org

Scott Morrison

Ascentria Community Services

(207) 783-3446

smorrison@ascentria.org

Annalee Morris-Polley

AngleZ Behavioral Health Services

(844) 294-5306

amorris@anglezbhs.com

John Painter

Weston Associates

(207) 795-6871

jpainter@waboston.com

Darlene Panzino

The Opportunity Alliance

(207) 780-8551

darlene.panzino@
opportunityalliance.org

Savannah Patton

ESM, Inc.

(207) 622-5946

savannah.patton@
esm-augusta.com

Doreen P-Bouchard

Northern Maine General

(207) 444-5152

doreen.bouchard@nmgeneral.org

Corey Provencher

Alternative Services-Northeast

(207) 777-1107

cprovencher@asi-ne.org

Ellen Quinlan

Shalom House

(207) 523-9291

equinlan@shalomhouseinc.org

Brenda Radel

Pillars Community Outreach

(207) 453-4500

bradel@
pillarscommunityoutreach.org

Wynona Randall

PENQUIS-Charlotte White Center

(207) 564-2464

wrandall@penquis.org

David Roderick

Volunteers of America

(207) 981-0486

david.roderick@voanne.org

Ericka Roy

R&K Wellness and Mental Health

(207) 850-3026

ericka.roy@wellnessrk.com

Danielle Seigars

Motivational Services

(207) 626-3465

dseigars1@mocomaine.com

Marleigh Souza

Volunteers of America

(207) 939-1324

marleigh.souza@voanne.org

Abigail Spadone

Shalom House

(207) 874-1080

aspardone@shalomhouseinc.org

Melanie Sparks

Tri-County Mental Health Services

(207) 783-4658

msparks@tcmhs.org

Jeff Tatarczuk

Residential and Community Support Services

(207) 468-0159

jefftatarczuk@rcssmaine.org

Stephanie Truman

Amethyst Training & Consulting

(207) 592-3412

amethyst19952001@aol.com

Deborah Walker-Roper

Community Health & Counseling Services

(207) 922-4490

dwalker@chcs-me-org

Kimberly Weitzman

Port Resources

(207) 828-0048

kweitzman@portresources.org

Joshua Wentworth

Granite Bay Care

(207) 232-0901

jwentworth@granitebaycare.org