MHRT/CSP Procedural Guidelines


The clinical licenses and credentials listed below are consistent with the MaineCare Benefits Manual, Chapter II, Section 65.02-9. 

Note: Having a relevant clinical license or credential does not automatically qualify an individual for MHRT/CSP certification. Please see the section called Options for Obtaining MHRT/CSP Certification in this manual for more detail.

Relevant full clinical licenses and credentials:

  • Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC)
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)
  • Licensed Marriage and Family Counselor (LMFT)
  • Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor (LADC)
  • Certified Alcohol and Drug Counselor (CADC)
  • Physician
  • Psychiatrist
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Psychiatric and Mental Health Practitioner
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurse Psychiatric and Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist (APRN-PMH-CNS)
  • Psychological Examiner
  • Physician’s Assistant (PA)
  • Registered Nurse or Licensed Clinical Psychologist

Relevant conditional clinical licenses:

  • Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor-Conditional (LCPC-conditional)
  • Licensed Master Social Worker Conditional Clinical (LMSW-conditional  clinical)
  • Licensed Marriage and Family Counselor-Conditional (LMFT-conditional)

Note: If there are revisions to the MaineCare regulations, these changes may apply to the above relevant credentials.